Afternoon D & C Dedicated To Mumbai
Home > Edit > Understanding the chakras and kundalini energy

Understanding the chakras and kundalini energy

Wednesday, November 08, 2017

There is consciousness present within our whole body, and it is divided in the upper and lower halves of the body. This divine force or consciousness is called as the Kundalini Shakti.

Kundam is the body or pot, and the energy inside that is the Kundalini energy. When the energy in the body rises up (through the chakras), it has many manifestations. All different emotions are just manifestations of this one beautiful energy.

When this Kundalini Shakti is awakened and rises within us, then our entire life becomes a dance of joy and bliss. Then nothing in the world can trouble us, and the entire world becomes an amazement when the power of consciousness gets awakened within you.

Chakras are the nerve centres in our body. There are 1,72,000 nadis (channels of metaphysical energy or life-force) in our body, and there are various nerve centres for these 1,72,000 Nadis. The human body actually has 109 nerve centres, but among those, nine centres are important, and even in those nine, seven centres (chakras) are of primary importance. They are:

  • The first chakra is at the base of the spine, at beginning of the anus and is called Muladhara.
  • Just above that is the next chakra which is called Svadhishthana.
  • The third chakra is just above the navel and is called Manipura.
  • Above that is the Anahata chakra which is in the center of the chest
  • Then comes the throat chakra called Visuddha
  • Above that is the chakra in-between the eyebrows called Ajna
  • The last chakra is on top of the head called Sahasrara.

When energy (kundalini) flows through the chakras, there are different emotions, feelings or sensations that one experiences. It is one energy that manifests itself in different ways in the different regions of the body.

When the Muladhara chakra is activated (through the flow of energy, one experiences enthusiasm in life. When it is dormant, then one experiences dullness and inertia. One does not feel interested in anything.

The same energy moves upwards to the second chakra, Swadhisthan chakra, which is located behind the genitals and it manifests as procreation or creation – meaning in the form of creative activity or as sex drive.

The same energy moves upwards to the navel region and manifests in four forms –  jealousy, greed, joy and generosity. These are the four flavors of consciousness that manifest in the third chakra, Manipur chakra.

Santa Claus, the Laughing Buddha, or a wealthy businessman, they all have a big stomach representing joy and generosity.

From the navel region, the energy moves upwards to the heart region, to the Anahata chakra and manifests in three forms – fear, love and hatred.

When people feel hatred or fear or love, the sensation is felt in the heart region. When someone’s heart is broken, it means that the love has become sour and turned into hatred. Love, fear and hatred are all the same.

When there is love, there is no fear. When there is fear, there is no love. At any point of time, only one of the three emotions take the front position while the other two go in the background. It is not that they disappear entirely.

People who feel fear also have love. When love is predominant, then there is no fear or hatred.

    — Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

No Comments Posted
City news
Who is my Principal, ask 41 HSC students ...
Students appearing for HSC examinations are 'sand
In an interesting development, Sikhs in the city ...
We got married recently. I am 32 and my wife is 3
Dr. Rajan B. Bhonsle, M.D. (Bom)
Consulting Sex Therapist & Counsellor
Dr. (Mrs.) Minnu R. Bhonsle, Ph.D.
Consulting Psychotherapist & Counsellor
Select Sun sign:
Aries (Mar 21 - Apr 20)
Aries (Mar 21 - Apr 20)You must learn to be discreet in matters of strategy and planning. The best of plans can be undone if spoken about prematurely. At home things are getting better but you should continue the efforts you have been putting in. Unwind with friends and relatives at a get-together this evening. The single may also come across someone interesting today.
- Advertising -
The Pantone Color of the Year is inspired by the
Founder and CEO of Zapyle, Rashi Menda, sits down
With the aim of helping women and children lead a
Read More